From the desk of a God fearing, career focused, no children, married woman

As I sit here eating on my lunch break at work, I can’t help but think about my life. And if you’re just like the rest of us, you always think about where you are and if you are happy. — with that being said, I’m constantly thinking about my life and my happiness. As I peck at my Dairy Queen French fry, and stare out the window dramatically at the snow on the ground, I look at my life. I’m a God fearing devoted Christian, with an amazing husband, and an amazing job. By choice, we don’t have any kids because we are so focused on our careers and our aspirations in life. You’d think, by 22 and 26, we would think about having kids before “it’s too late.” But, the more I think of kids, the more I come to realize that I don’t believe God is pointing me in that direction. I feel as though he is pointing me to continue my degree in Business and to continue to hone my marketing skills for a career in marketing. As I work on eating my chicken wrap, I think, gosh what a wonderful life God has provided me. A husband, a house, two amazing yorkie babies, a job , and his love… What more could I ask for?
I get so frustrated when people ask me if I’ll ever have kids! I can’t help but be irritated. Kids are a choice, a choice that we have made. And being the Christian I am, I always doubt if I’m really doing what God wants me to do by not having kids. But then I remember, God loves us for who we are, and if it’s Gods plan for us to do something, it’ll happen. Maybe today, two years, ten years from now, but he has a plan for each and every one of us. And sometimes, I forget that I shouldn’t compare to others, because that’s not my life. My life is determined by God, and what he’s telling me is right. God has a plan for all of us, and whether or not it’s kids, careers, or whatever, we can find comfort in the fact that God will always light the way.
A little verse from the bible for inspiration for me and whoever reads this today:

Psalm 27:14

Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

IMG_0030.JPG

Leave a Comment!

